Month: August 2019

Crafted By – Be Spoke | S2E2

Give this episode’s guests a mic and an audience and they’ll fuse the wonder of words with the power of performance. The Spoken Word Poetry scene in Singapore is alive and well, with multiple events happening throughout each month across the island.

I talk to 9 poets here about (a) how a layperson can know if what they’re listening to is amazing or gibberish (b)┬áthe difference between page poetry and spoken word poetry (c) a comparison of the spoken word scene in Singapore and Malaysia (d) the art of spoken word performance (e) the impact of social media (f) representation of minorities (g) addressing societal issues (h) income for poets (i) the scene today and tomorrow

The poets we spoke with are

  1. Jennifer Anne Champion – https://jenniferannechampion.com/
  2. Stefanie Dogfoot – https://www.facebook.com/stephaniedogfoot/
  3. Kok Wei Liang – https://www.facebook.com/kwl3000
  4. Marc Nair – http://www.marcnair.com 
  5. Shivram Gopinath – https://sg.linkedin.com/in/shivramgopinath 
  6. Melizarani T. Selva – https://www.instagram.com/melizarani/
  7. Pooja Nansi – https://twitter.com/poojanansi
  8. Deborah Emmanuel – https://deborahemmanuel.com/ 
  9. Chris Mooney-Singh – http://www.chrismooneysingh.com/

Check out Mantravine, Deborah Emmanuel’s band https://www.mantravine.com/ Their album, Cosmic Shaman, drops Sept 7th!

Crafted By – Aquascaping | S2E1

We kick off our 2nd season with a literal deep dive in the world of aquascaping and the huge influence of Takashi Amano and his company Aqua Design Amano. The hot trend in home aquariums is to focus on plants and hardscape (rocks, driftwood, etc.) to create a serene submerged world. We talk with the leading experts in the field, including 2-hour Aquarist Dennis Wong, plant guru Indra of AquaLush, and Lawrence of East Ocean, the 3rd generation of the family who’ve supported the aquarium scene in Singapore for over 4 decades.

We also visit with Elliot and Derek of Natura Aquatics and hear from one of their customers, who is part of the community of enthusiasts.

Plus, we travel to Hong Kong and talk with Dave Chow, winner of the IAPLC in 2007 and considered a living legend in planted tanks. 

Aqua Design Amano https://www.adana.co.jp/en/

Dennis Wong / 2hr Aquarist https://www.advancedplantedtank.com/

Natura Aquatics https://www.facebook.com/natura.aquatics/ 

Aqua Lush https://www.facebook.com/aqualush.sg/

East Ocean Aquatic http://www.eastoceansg.com/

Dave Chow / Aqua Art HK https://www.aquaart.com.hk/

Dave Chow Interview Courtesy of Kafnu